16th Annual Awards Celebration

Posted February 22, 2018


On February 21, 2018, Berks County Public Libraries honored people and community organizations for their support and contributions to libraries in Berks County at the 16th Annual Awards Celebration. Award winners and members of the library community attended the celebration at the System Headquarters.

In addition to the category winners, the Berks County Public Libraries advisory board recognized Carol Gardecki (Spring Township Library, West Lawn branch) and Dave Beard (Berks Book Bonanza) with Certificates of Merit.


Winners from the 16th Annual Awards Celebration:

Dreisbach Award for Exemplary Service—Vicki Steinberg and Pam Hilbert, Berks Book Bonanza

Chet Hagan Memorial Public Relations Award—Kutztown Community Library

Linda Baer Friend of the Year—Janet Keener, Friends of the Hamburg Public Library

Trustee of the Year—Mary Laub, Kutztown Community Library

Elected Official—Steve Wolfinger, Muhlenberg Township Commissioner

Outstanding Library Director—Janet Yost, Kutztown Community Library

Outstanding Community Organization—Fleetwood Area High School Future Business Leaders of America

Outstanding Local Business—Keystone Villa of Fleetwood

Outstanding Fundraising Event—HATCH Campaign, Kutztown Community Library

Outstanding Program of the Year (5 winners)—

  • Escape the Library, Spring Township Library, West Lawn branch
  • Fleetwood Kids Give Back, Fleetwood Area Public Library
  • Health & Wellness Fair, Muhlenberg Community Library
  • Highland Strong, Kutztown Community Library
  • Teen Club: Nerf Wars, Bethel-Tulpehocken Public Library
  • Hon. Mention: Opioid Crisis Program, Reading Public Library



Photos from the 16th Annual Awards Celebration


awards photo 1
awards photo 2
awards photo 3
awards photo 12
awards photo 13
awards photo 4
awards photo 5
awards photo 6
awards photo 10
awards photo 11
awards photo 7
awards photo 8
awards photo 9


Photo 1: Steve Wolfinger (Muhlenberg Township Commissioner) and Melissa Adams (Muhlenberg Community Library Director). Photo 2: Tara Ring (Senior Library Assistant/PR Coordinator) and Melissa Adams (Muhlenberg Community Library Director). Photo 3: Brooke Gorman, Faith Readinger, and Caitlin Bower (Fleetwood Future Business Leaders of America). Photo 4: Laura Walizer, Brooke Gorman, Faith Readinger, and Caitlin Bower (Fleetwood Future Business Leaders of America) and Carin Mileshosky (Fleetwood Area Public Library Director). Photo 5: Cathy Ruhf, Joanne Yoder, Janet Yost, Megan Waidelich, Taylor Kutz, Joanne Englehart, Lacie Henninger, Marybeth Friedle, and Mackenzie Keller (Kutztown Community Library). Photo 6: Meghan Golden (Youth Program Coordinator, West Lawn Library) and Carol Gardecki (Spring Township Library Association). Photo 7: Meghan Golden (Youth Program Coordinator, West Lawn Library). Photo 8: Lacie Henninger and Taylor Kutz (Kutztown Community Library). Photo 9: Kaitlin Lehman (Bethel-Tulpehocken Public Library Director), Betsy Kreider (Bethel-Tulpehocken Public Library), and Mike Najarian (Bethel-Tulpehocken Public Library Board President). Photo 10: Vicki Steinberg and Pam Hilbert (Berks Book Bonanza). Photo 11: Dave Beard (Berks Book Bonanza). Photo 12: Mary Laub (Kutztown Community Library). Photo 13: Betsy Kreider (Bethel-Tulpehocken Public Library).